A Guide to All 50 States’ COVID-19 Travel Restrictions
COVID-19 Interstate Travel Restrictions
We’re already one month into 2021 and not much has changed in terms of the epidemiological situation here in the United States.
Below is a state-by-state breakdown of what travelers need to know about quarantine rules and travel restrictions if they’re planning a trip. For the number of coronavirus cases in each state and local protocols, please see their official state or health department websites listed for the most updated information.
As of April 4, Alabama had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Alaska’s former interstate travel restrictions have been downgraded to a Health Advisory (i.e., official guidance that visitors should observe voluntarily). Out-of-state travelers are still strongly encouraged to test within 72 hours of arrival in the state and airport testing remains available.
—A second test, to be taken between five and 14 days after arrival in Alaska, is also strongly recommended.
—All interstate travelers must still complete a Travel Declaration Form through the Alaska Travel Portal.
As of April 4, Arizona had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Arkansas had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
California no longer has statewide restrictions on inbound travelers and the California Department of Public Health lifted its 120-mile travel advisory on April 1.
—Out-of-state visitors over the age of 16 traveling to Los Angeles County must fill out this online form, acknowledging that they have read and understood the L.A. County Department of Public Health’s travel requirement and the state of California’s Travel Advisory. Failure to submit this form prior to or upon arrival at Los Angeles International Airport, Van Nuys Airport, or Union Station is punishable by a fine of up to $500.
—Those who intend to visit California should continue to monitor the latest local restrictions for their destination city.
Colorado doesn’t have statewide travel restrictions, but Pitkin County (home to ski resort towns Aspen and Snowmass) has had formerly enforced its own entry requirements. As of March 5, however, the previous Pitkin County Traveler Affidavit Requirement changed to the Traveler Responsibility Code.
—Travelers ages 10 and up who are spending one or more nights in the county must complete the new Traveler Responsibility Code, which simply asks visitors to acknowledge the CDC’s travel recommendations and local public health orders.
Connecticut’s previous interstate travel restrictions are no longer in effect, although pre-travel testing and post-arrival 10-day quarantines are still recommended.
—Domestic travelers are now directed to refer to CDC travel-related guidelines.
As of April 4, Delaware had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
District of Columbia
Anyone traveling to Washington D.C. from a state or jurisdiction that has more than 10 daily cases per 100,000 people must arrive carrying negative results from a COVID-19 test administered no more than 72 hours prior to entering the District.
—Visitors or returning residents entering the District from high-risk states or territories must quarantine for a full 10 days upon arrival –OR– test again within three to five days of arrival and quarantine pending the results.
—Visitors from Maryland and Virginia, and low-risk states (currently North Dakota and Hawaii) are exempt from this order.
—Those entering D.C. to attend a family emergency or a funeral do not need to obtain a negative test prior to arriving but must restrict their activities to those related to the emergency.
—Testing requirements are waived for visitors who’ve been fully vaccinated within the previous 90 days, as well as those who have already tested positive for and recovered from COVID-19 within 90 days of travel. Travelers should carry with them documentation to this effect.
As of April 4, Florida had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Georgia had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Hawaii’s interstate travel restrictions continue to evolve, and the rules can vary depending upon which island you’re visiting, although lawmakers are currently drafting a bill that would standardize travel regulations across all counties.
Hawaii’s Pre-Travel Testing Program allows passengers to bypass the state’s mandatory 10-day quarantine period by taking a Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) through one of the state’s Trusted Testing Partners within 72 hours of their arrival. Interisland travelers are also currently subject to quarantine restrictions, but, in some cases, testing out of quarantine is an option. Links to county-specific details can be found here.
—Travelers must upload their test results to the state’s online Safe Travels form and complete a health questionnaire within 24 hours of their departure. They’ll then receive a QR code via email to present to airport screeners upon arrival.
—Travelers are required to upload their negative test results or have them on hand prior to their departure if they want to skip Hawaii’s default mandatory 10-day quarantine.
—At least 25 percent of travelers who use the Pre-Travel Testing option will also be randomly selected to receive a non-optional second test upon arrival at the airport, free of charge.
—Kauai is set to rejoin the state’s Safe Travels program on April 5, until which time Kauai demands the full 10 days’ quarantine, unless you’re staying at a designated “resort bubble” hotel and receive a negative test result after spending 72 hours confined to your resort. Or, travelers now have the option of arriving on another island, spending at least three days there, and then testing again before flying to Kauai. If the second test is negative, they get to bypass quarantine.
—As of yet, Hawaii currently has established no provisions to exempt fully vaccinated travelers from these requirements.
As of April 4, Idaho had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
While Illinois doesn’t have statewide travel restrictions, Chicago’s Emergency Travel Order applies to anyone entering or returning to the city from states identified as having a significant degree of community-wide COVID-19 spread.
—Those coming from any state-designated “Orange” must obtain a negative COVID-19 test result no more than 72 hours prior to arrival in Chicago or quarantine for a 10-day period (or the duration of their time in Chicago, whichever is shorter).
—Those coming from “Yellow” states aren’t subject to testing or quarantine requirements.
As of April 4, Indiana had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Iowa had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
For the most part, Kansas is open to U.S. travelers, with quarantine and testing measures that apply only to some strangely specific groups, the list of which can be found here.
—Visitors that fall under these categories must isolate from seven to 10 days, depending upon whether or not they get tested for COVID-19 on Day 6 of their quarantine. Those who receive a negative result after testing on their sixth day will be released from quarantine on Day 8, rather than Day 11.
As of April 4, Kentucky had no statewide travel restrictions, although the state Public Health department is discouraging out-of-state leisure travel and urging residents who choose to travel to quarantine for 14 days upon their return, or follow CDC guidance for alternative options to shorten the quarantine period.
As of April 4, Louisiana had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Travelers to Maine will need to either quarantine for a full 10 days or provide a negative COVID-19 test result from a sample taken no more than 72 hours prior to arrival. Both PCR and antigen tests are acceptable to exempt visitors from quarantine, but returning residents must stick to molecular tests.
—Visitors may also test after entering Maine, but must quarantine until they receive results.
—Residents of Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont are exempted from Maine’s testing and quarantine requirements.
—There are also exemptions available for those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 at least 14 days prior, and persons who had tested positive for the virus and recovered within the past 90 days.
—Travelers will also need to complete a Certificate of Compliance form indicating they have received a negative test result, that they will complete the 10-day quarantine or that they have already completed their quarantine.
Travelers to Maryland are required to provide the negative results of a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of their arrival, or to test immediately upon arrival and self-quarantine pending the results.
—Travelers are also encouraged to test a second time at least 72 hours after entering Maryland. Those coming from Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia and Washington, D.C. are exempt from this order.
—Per the governor’s executive order, persons who violate the rules are subject to imprisonment of up to one year or a fine of $5,000.
Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker has lifted the state’s travel restrictions, replacing its previous COVID-19 Travel Order with a voluntary travel advisory.
As of April 4, Michigan had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Minnesota had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors, but the state health department writes that “any unnecessary travel is highly discouraged”.
As of April 4, Mississippi had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Missouri had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Montana had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Nebraska had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
State COVID-19 website: Nevada Health Response
As of April 4, Nevada had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Visitors to New Hampshire who are coming from states outside of New England (Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut or Rhode Island) will need to self-quarantine for 10 days. There is, however, a “test-out” provision, which allows those who are asymptomatic and obtain a negative PCR test on or after day 7 of quarantining to end their isolation early.
—Travelers are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements if they’ve been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and more than 14 days have passed since receiving the second dose of their vaccine.
—Those who tested COVID-19 positive within the past 90 days and have recovered from the infection are also exempt, provided they have proof.
Returning residents and travelers coming from any U.S. state or territory beyond New Jersey’s immediate vicinity (New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Delaware) are advised to self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other lodgings for 10 days if they haven’t been tested or their test results are pending. The quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected.
—Those who take a viral COVID-19 test prior to arrival in New Jersey and receive negative results should still quarantine for a full seven days following their arrival.
New Mexico’s travel advisory is no longer mandating quarantine, but emphasizes that those arriving from high-risk states or territories are “strongly advised” to self-isolate for at least 10 days. Anyone entering New Mexico’s borders is also strongly advised to get COVID-19 tested at their earliest convenience.
—High-risk states are defined as having a five-percent or higher positivity rate or a positive test rate higher than 80 per one million residents, as measured over a seven-day rolling average). At last update on March 23, all U.S. states and jurisdictions except Hawaii were designated high-risk.
Governor Andrew Cuomo has lifted New York’s mandatory testing and quarantine measures for domestic travelers, effective April 1.
—Unless they’re coming from a bordering state (Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts or Vermont), all travelers must fill out the New York State Traveler Health Form.
As of April 4, North Carolina had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, North Dakota had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Ohio had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
—The state encourages travelers to carefully review the CDC’s latest guidance when considering travel.
As of April 4, Oklahoma had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Oregon’s standing travel advisory includes a recommendation that out-of-state travelers and returning residents should quarantine themselves for 14 days after arrival in the state.
As of April 4, Pennsylvania had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
—The state directs visitors to continue practicing public health measures, such as mask-wearing, social distancing and hand hygiene.
Anyone coming to Rhode Island from states having a COVID-19 positivity rate higher than five percent must quarantine for 10 days or provide proof of a negative result from a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival in the state. You may also test following entry into the state, but must quarantine until receiving negative results.
—Rhode Island’s ‘restricted states’ roster, last updated on March 29, currently includes 23 U.S. states and territories.
—Domestic visitors who’ve received their final dose of a COVID-19 vaccine at least 14 days prior to their out-of-state trip and within the past 90 days are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements.
—Travelers who’ve tested COVID-19 positive in the past 90 days and have completed their isolation period are also exempt from quarantine and testing rules, provided they provide proof.
As of April 4, South Carolina had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, South Dakota had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors. However, some road routes through Native American tribal lands may be closed, and affected travelers will need to find alternatives.
As of April 4, Tennessee had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Texas had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Utah had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
Anyone entering Vermont from out of state, including returning residents, must either complete a 14-day quarantine, or take a COVID-19 PCR test on or after Day 7 to end their quarantine early through a negative test result.
—Travelers entering Vermont in a personal vehicle are afforded the option to complete their quarantine and testing requirements in their own state, prior to travel, in order to be allowed to move freely upon their arrival in Vermont.
—Travelers entering Vermont who have not completed a pre-arrival quarantine must complete either a 14-day quarantine or a seven-day quarantine followed by a negative test.
—All out-of-state travelers utilizing lodging, camping and short-term rental properties must sign a Certificate of Compliance or affirm a compliance statement via a digital check box at the time of reservation and check-in attesting that they meet the quarantine requirements.
As of April 4, Virginia had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Washington had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
—In lieu of the state’s previous travel guidance, referring travelers instead to follow the CDC’s updated recommendations.
As of April 4, West Virginia had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Wisconsin had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors.
As of April 4, Wisconsin had no statewide travel restrictions in place for U.S. visitors, but the Wisconsin Department of Health Services is recommending cancellation or postponement of all travel, including travel within the state.